Experiencing “Same Sex Attraction”

As members of the Church of Jesus of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints, people like to say that those that are gay are “Same Sex Attracted”. Kind of a awkward set of choice words if you ask me. If you’re gay than your gay, there really isn’t any other words that go along with that.

How has my life been since coming out almost 8 weeks ago? Honestly, I feel comfortable with myself. I am proud of myself. I know that there are some of my family members, perhaps my older brother who isn’t accepting of my decision. But as I have been told by my friends, and others that those people will eventually come around. I know they will. It’s just going to take time.

How is my Faith with God? I just wrote a blog about this about a week ago, so you can see that but as an update to that. I still pray daily, and I am doing daily devotionals, just to keep my mind on track. Yes, I do have a testimony of the restored church “The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints”. But I know God, is leading me down another path to another church where I can be accepted, for me being me. On Sunday, I will actually check it out. I have downloaded many sermons from this church and have been listening to them frequently.

How am I doing overall? Overall, my life is going well. I have never been more happier. I am extremely grateful for the friends that have stuck by my side for the past eight weeks and will continue to do so. I know these are my real friends. I know that there are friends, that overtime, they will come around, and accept me.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:11-13)

Jeremiah is perhaps one of my favorite books in the Bible. Now, don’t ask me why, because I am not sure. I remember years ago, attending a retreat with my youth group, or maybe it was a spiritual outing that I did, and I came across this great chapter and this great set of verses. The Lord really has a plan for each of us in our lives, sometimes we just don’t know what it is. But with his plan, it will give us a brighter and more happier future. If we seek the Lord in everything, he will be right by our side. I know this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment